Accidentally deleted a Scatt file

Skill Level
Amateur/Hobby Shooter
Primary Discipline
Small-bore Pistol
SCATT Experience
3 years
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
17 Posts
10 Helpful Votes
1 Best Q&A Answers
Did a training today and afterwards I wanted to export the Scatt file. Unfortunately I pressed the delete button and my training result disappeared.
Is there a possibility to retrieve it?
And an idea to get the question in the future, ask for confirmation when deleting a file?

Using: SCATT Expert software for macOS 10.10+ version 20.05.25 from 22.05.2020 13:11
 
Your highest shooting achievement
XTC Master
Skill Level
Amateur/Hobby Shooter
Primary Discipline
High-power Rifle
SCATT Experience
Over 5 years
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
13 Posts
3 Helpful Votes
0 Best Q&A Answers
Don't know about the Mac, but in Windows systems a deleted file goes to the "recycle bin" and stays there until you empty the bin.

Tim
 
OP
Triplef
Skill Level
Amateur/Hobby Shooter
Primary Discipline
Small-bore Pistol
SCATT Experience
3 years
Joined
Mar 11, 2020
17 Posts
10 Helpful Votes
1 Best Q&A Answers
Don't know about the Mac, but in Windows systems a deleted file goes to the "recycle bin" and stays there until you empty the bin.

Tim
No, not on my Mac...
 
Your highest shooting achievement
10m pistol France championship qualifications
Skill Level
Amateur/Hobby Shooter
Primary Discipline
Air Pistol
SCATT Experience
Less than 1 year
Joined
May 13, 2020
99 Posts
64 Helpful Votes
0 Best Q&A Answers
And an idea to get the question in the future, ask for confirmation when deleting a file?
Good suggestion :) . This kind of accident should never be possible. And better yet, you should not be able from within the software to delete a file. What about removing the file name from the "previous sessions" list, but never deleting the file itself (or at least only after a caution message and double confirmation).
In the mean time we'll have to resolve to basic backup :confused:
 
Last edited:
Your highest shooting achievement
2018 WCH Changwon 22nd place
Skill Level
Professional
Primary Discipline
Air Rifle
SCATT Experience
Over 5 years
Joined
Mar 10, 2020
18 Posts
17 Helpful Votes
0 Best Q&A Answers
Don't know about the Mac, but in Windows systems a deleted file goes to the "recycle bin" and stays there until you empty the bin.

Tim
The sessions in Scatt Expert aren't individual files. They are just entries in a database and so when you press delete in Scatt Expert they are removed from the database along with all associated data. In other words the delete button changes the file containing all sessions so that it no longer contains the session you deleted.

The solution is to automatically back up the ~/.local/share/SCATT Electronics/Scatt Expert/storage.dat file.
 
Your highest shooting achievement
2018 WCH Changwon 22nd place
Skill Level
Professional
Primary Discipline
Air Rifle
SCATT Experience
Over 5 years
Joined
Mar 10, 2020
18 Posts
17 Helpful Votes
0 Best Q&A Answers
And an idea to get the question in the future, ask for confirmation when deleting a file?

Using: SCATT Expert software for macOS 10.10+ version 20.05.25 from 22.05.2020 13:11
Version 20.05.25 for Linux does ask for confirmation. Maybe this is a problem with the mac version?
 
Top